Multi Engine Piston Class Rating (MEP)

Multi Engine Piston Class Rating

This rating allows a person to transition from single engine aircraft to twin engine aircraft which can be quite challenging.

Course Syllabus

The flight training is conducted on a Multi-Engine Piper Seneca PA-34 or Diamond DA-42 and an FNPT II simulator.

The 6 hours flying requirement are met as follows:

  • 1 hours on FNPT 11T
  • 5 hours on the PA34/DA 42

As per EASA regulation the training course includes 7 hours of theoretical knowledge training and a theory exam.

Normally this course is conducted with either the CPL or Instrument Rating and will involve a combined flight test. If the MEP Rating is conducted as a standalone course, then an MEP rating skills test will be required.



To commence an MEP (A) modular course, an applicant shall be in possession of an EASA PPL (A) or an EASA CPL (A).
Applicants must:

  • For a first class rating on a single pilot multi-engine aeroplane shall have completed at least 70 hours as pilot-in-command of aeroplanes.
  • Have demonstrated the ability to use the English language, ICAO level 4 or higher.
  • Hold a valid EASA Class 1 or 2 medical certificate.

Contact Our Training Advisers.

Interested in learning more?

Contact us today